SENS Celebrates the End of Term

Despite a challenging end-of-term, student efforts shine front and centre.

Each year, SENS hosts a symposium where student research is front and centre. When the COVID-19 outbreak made an in-person event impossible, the planning team pivoted the format in order to make the 7th annual symposium a virtual event.

Students across the Master of Environment and Sustainability (MES) and PhD programs were invited to participate, and the SENS community voted on their video submissions based on a 3-minute Thesis framework.

This was a challenging assignment, forcing students to get comfortable with presenting in a virtual setting with a tight time restriction—and all while in a pandemic lockdown. This was no easy task, and SENS applauds all of our students for their tremendous efforts.

 Check out the winners and their videos below!


The winners of the symposium video competition are:

Ines Sanchez Rodriguez

Plenary Speaker’s Choice and Overall Winner

Kevin Erratt

People’s Choice

Seth Amankwah

Engagement Committee 1st place

Forough Fendereski

Engagement Committee 2nd place

Azza Mohammadiazar

Engagement Committee 3rd place (tie)

Shanta Sharma

Engagement Committee 3rd place (tie)


The 2020 annual SENS Mowatt Award winners were also announced: 

  • Master of Sustainable Environmental Management:Marissa Glofcheskie (Maureen Reed & Vladimir Kricsfalusy)
  • Master of Water Security: Haley Brauner (Andrew Ireson) 
  • Master of Environment and Sustainability (tie): Tegan Brock (Maureen Reed & Katherine Stewart from Soil Science); Amanda Lindgren (Maureen Reed & Jim Robson)
  • PhD:Kathleen Aikens (Marcia McKenzie)


ENVS 401: Sustainability in Action projects are on display online:

AND, the ENVS 401 "Sustainability in Action" projects have been submitted, and you can see them all online. There is so much creativity and problem-solving on display. Check them out and get inspired!


Share this story